Honorary Members

Our association has seven professors whom may call themselves honorary members of L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius”. One of them holds the position of honorary president.

The honorary members are extremely important for the association. They have actively supported the association in the past and are still always ready to support the association and the board. Whenever there are contacts necessary for a symposium, the Foreign Excursion or the celebration of the Dies, they are always willing to see if they know anyone who could help us. They are also very interested to hear what is happening within the association during the annual visits of the board.

Prof. dr. D.D. Breimer is the honorary president of L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius”. In 1985 the government concluded there were too many Pharmacy studies in the Netherlands, resulting in the discontinuation of the Pharmacy study in Leiden. To save the study in Leiden, prof. dr. Breimer established the study Bio-Pharmaceutical Sciences. Partly because of him, the association was able to continue to exist and for that we are very grateful. Prof. dr. Breimer studied Pharmacy in Groningen and promoted in 1974 in the field of pharmacology. He held his oration in October 1976 on the subject ‘Farmacotherapie op maat’. From 2001 until 2007 he was Rector Maginificus of the University of Leiden  and from 1992 to 2001 he was scientific director of the LACDR. Prof. dr. Breimer has received various honorary doctorates from the University of Gent, the University of Uppsala and the Hoshi University in Tokyo, amongst others.

Since 1988, Prof. Dr. Breimer has also been a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2000, Prof. Dr. Breimer was appointed Knight of the Order of the Dutch Lion and in 2007 Officer of the Order of Orange Nassau. In addition, he was Scientific Secretary of the FIP from 1978 to 1989, co-founder of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Sciences (EUFEPS) and of the League of European Research Universities (LERU), vice-chairman of the Supervisory Board of TU Delft from 2007 to 2017, member of the Board of Governors of KU Leuven from 2008 to 2018 and of the Governing Body of University College Cork from 2008 to 2016. If this list is not impressive enough, he was also chairman of the Supervisory Board of Life Sciences Partners in Amsterdam from 2003 to 2019, chairman of the Advisory Board of the Medicines Evaluation Board from 2013 to 2019 and chairman of the Supervisory Board of Museum Boerhaave from 2010 to 2018. 

Prof. Breimer

Prof. dr. H.E. Junginger became honorary member of „Aesculapius” on November 21st 1995. He studied Pharmacy in Munich and promoted in June 1972. The title of his oration was ‘Farmaceutisch-technologische kwaliteit’. Professor Junginger was appointed professor in Pharmaceutical Technology at the University of Leiden in 1982. From 1984 to 2004 he was director of the Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology at the Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research. Prof. dr. Junginger has worked for the University of Leiden for 23 years. After his work at the university he spent a couple of months at universities in Thailand and Singapore to help graduated students and teachers with their research. On top of that he was scientific secretary at the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) from 1995 to 2003.

Prof Junginger ba8 

Prof. dr. G.J. Mulder has been an honorary member of L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius” since 2001. He studied Chemistry and promoted in 1973. On the March 29th 1985 he held his oration with the title ‘Toxicologie: van risicoschatting naar wetenschap’ en promoted in the discipline toxicology. Professor Mulder has been scientific director of the LACDR and has also been in the direction of education of BFW. In July 2005 prof. dr. Mulder was named honorary member of the Health Council; in 1986 he participated in the Committee of the Assessment of Carcinogenic Substances and he was chairman of the GBBS Committee for 15 years (from 1999 until 2014).

Prof. Mulder

Prof. dr. A.P. IJzerman was named honorary member of L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius” on April 5th 2004. He studied Pharmacy in Utrecht and promoted in June 1985 at the Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam with a subject in the field of receptor research. In 2001 he was named professor of Pharmacochemistry. Professor IJzerman has been chairman of the Federation for Innovative Drug Research Netherlands (FIGON). He was named secretary of the Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen (KHMW) in July 2015. Prof. dr. IJzerman was also head of the department Medicinal Chemistry of the LACDR until April 2021.

Prof. IJzerman 2

Prof. dr. M. Danhof is honorary member of L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius” since 2006. Prof. dr. Danhof studied Pharmacy in Groningen and promoted at the University of Leiden in 1980 in the field of pharmacology. He worked at an outstanding institute in the U.S. from 1980 until 1983. In April 1997 he held his oration with the title: ‘Farmacologie in spiegelbeeld’ and was a professor at our faculty until March 2017. In 2007 he became professor at the LUMC. From 2005 until 2012 he was scientific director of the LACDR and was chairman of the department Pharmacology for some time. In 1998 he founded LAP&P Consultants BV. Prof. dr. Danhof was chairman of the committee which dealt with the organisation of the ‘6th FIP Pharmaceutical Science World Congress 2017’ in Stockholm, Sweden. On April 23rd 2014 professor Danhof was named 'Ridder in de Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw' thanks to his research into more efficient drugs.

Prof. Danhof

 Prof. dr. A.F. Cohen has been honorary member of L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius” since June 10th 2013. He studied Medicine and Pharmacy at the University of Leiden. In May 1986 he promoted with the topic: ‘The Human Pharmacology of Acrivastine and Lamotrigine’. Between 1999 and 2011 he was vice-chairman of the Netherlands Competent Authority for Human Research (CCMO). Prof. Cohen held his oration in 2011 with the title: ‘Klinische Farmacologie -  tussen middel en kwaal’. He is the co-founder of the Centre for Human Drug Research (CHDR) and was its CEO until 2018. Professor Cohen is also editor-in-chief of the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology. 

Prof Cohen

Prof. H. Irth was made an honorary member of the L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius” earlier this year. He studied Environmental Technology at the Technical University in Berlin, after which he received a degree as a Diplom Engineer in 1984. In 1989 he obtained his PhD in Chemistry from the Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam. In 1991 he became assistant professor at the LACDR. From 2010 to 2016 he was dean of the Faculty of Sciences at the Vrij Universiteit Amsterdam. Since 2016, Prof. H. Irth has been scientific director of the Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research (LACDR) and professor of Biomolecular analysis.


Je vindt ons hier

Contact opnemen?

L.P.S.V. „Aesculapius”

Einsteinweg 55
Telefoonnummer: 071-5274601
e-mail: bestuur@aesculapius.nl

Ab-actiaat t.a.v. I.F.C. Blom
Gorlaeus Laboratoria
Postbus 9502